Tunisia Overland Adventure Tour

Tunisia Trip

What time of the year is best to visit Tunisia? Spring and fall are the best to travel. The history of Tunisia reveals this rich past where different successive Mediterranean cultures had a strong presence. After the Carthaginian Republic, The Roman Empire came; they left a lasting effect on the land with various monuments and cities, such as the El Jem Amphitheater and the archaeological site of ancient Carthage, classified as a world heritage site. El Jem is just one of seven world heritage sites found in Tunisia. Enjoy exploring all aspects of Tunisia's historic cities, Mediterranean resorts, and overland Sahara desert experience on this grand tour.


Customize This Trip For Me

ustomized tours for private travel.

Are group tours cheaper? Group tours are usually cheaper than private. However, it would be best if you also considered that group tours save you a lot of time in research, organization, and booking your trip and activities. Tunisia tours overland with a small group to explore the best Mediterranean lush vistas that would connect you to the aridness of a vast Sahara desert. Tunisia's south and north are like two countries contrasting in climate and landscape. The south seems to embody an era of the biblical aura, seemingly an ancient Mesopotamia of adobe and roof gardens. Exploring the vast Sahara expansion seems surreal, with its oases plateaus bordered by mirages and golden dunes. With all our Tunisia small group tours, you will explore the best of the Souss region of the Sahara desert. Still, hiking with this expedition along these lacing valleys and oases, you will discover sandcastle-like kasbahs and romantic oases, where tall date silver-green reeds hedge palms grove. Dunes on the far horizon are constantly reshaped by gentle winds, sheltered by azure-blue African skies, shaping the backdrop of these lush vistas. Heaven on earth, this is for any active nature lover traveler who loves walking, hiking, and trekking challenging expeditions with guaranteed departures and small group tours to Tunisia.

Is it safe to travel in Tunisia? Yes, it is secure. Our Tours to Tunisia are hiking these breathtaking landscapes that have attracted artists, poets, photographers, and filmmakers. Our Tunisia active tours are enthralling and amazing. You will be able to capture the majesty and unsurpassed beauty of Tunisia's natural landscapes with your naked eye and through your camera's lens. This Tunisia expedition is beyond National Geographic's reach; it is heaven on earth, which has a depth that can only be truly embraced and appreciated by the naked eye.

We have designed this adventure tour and expedition especially for the outback lovers of nature and authenticity. It is an overland trek in Tunisia South. This overland expedition is offered for all kinds of travelers, from luxury packages to budget or backpackers' shoestring budgets. If you can walk in the park, you can do this overland expedition. Our Tunisia adventure tours start in Tunis and end there and cover ceremonial treks and footpaths. We depart from Tunis the green visiting major historic cities to the Souss desert exploring cultural encounters in the most remote oases daily life. Our active tours to Tunisia are much more rewarding than what other tour operators offer.

Shoppers will love the Berber souks (daily markets) as all you see, from produce to utensils to crafts, are locally produced. This Tunisia overland tour will continue on its way, crossing some of the breathtaking oases and kasbahs (adobe castles) riding 4x4 Land Rovers through the great south of Tunisia where the scenery changes on every horizon, you will reach this expedition suddenly the vastness of the Sahara desert. No word can describe this ethereal God-made ocean of emptiness, yet it is fulfilling. Welcome to the ocean of dunes and the land of camel treks. Enjoy this trekking expedition in enticing Tunisia. Join our active tours to Tunisia best deals up to your budget for all our small group tours. Any of our Tunisia Tours can be customized to your liking and budget.

DAY TO DAY ITINERARY

Day 1: Arrival at Tunis Airport

Welcome to our overland expedition to Tunisia. Upon your arrival at Tunis Airport, you will meet our representative, who will greet you and transfer you to your hotel in Tunis colonial town. Your historic walking tour of the city is scheduled for tomorrow. The remainder of today is at leisure to relax and acclimate. Dinner and accommodation will be at your hotel.

Day 2: Tunis Historic Tour

After breakfast, you will meet your local guide, who will take you on a historical tour of Tunis and about. Start your guided tour by visiting the seaside town of Sidi Bou Said. In this Mediterranean blue town, the seaside village's white walls and blue shutters make for incredible photo opportunities. Continue to the ninth-century World Heritage-listed Carthage to see monuments like the vast Antonine baths, the Roman amphitheater, and the Punic ports. We will break for lunch at Sidi Bou Said. They visit the Famous National Bardo Museum, second only to the Egyptian Museum of Cairo in terms of the breadth and depth of its collections. Later, we will walk to Tunis Medina, one of the interesting old North African cities. Discover the twisting alleyways with your local guide and Tunis medieval monuments and landmarks, explore shops overflowing with goods, and visit the Grand Souq des Chechias, where Tunisia's iconic blood-red hats are made. In the evening, return to your hotel for dinner and accommodation.

Day 3: Travel to Kairouan

After breakfast, we will travel overland to Kairouan, visiting Testour. Dougga and Le Kef. Make tracks for Dougga, one of the best-preserved Roman cities in Africa. Stop en route in Testour, where the Moorish architecture tells the story of the Muslim and Jewish refugees who arrived in the 16th–17th centuries expelled from Spain. Explore Dougga with your tour leader. Once the capital of both the Phoenician and Roman states, Dougga boasts many imposing monuments, including a second-century AD theatre, the Capitoline Temple, and the 2200-year-old Nubian Temple of Ateban. Enjoy your overland trekking day exploring the best of historical sights in Tunisia. Continue your trek heading to Kairouan, where you will spend the night. Dinner and accommodation will be at your hotel.

Day 4: Overland trip to Tozeur

Today, your overland expedition will progress southwards to the Oasis of Tozeur. You will explore the oasis town of Tozeur, which is lined by extensive palm groves and was historically an important trade center of trans-Saharan Caravans. Check out Eden Palm, a museum set in a beautiful building that tracks the history of dates and the uses of the palm tree. Later stroll through the 14th-century medina and admire the striking adobe architecture and restored sundried natural brickwork. The rest of the day is free for you to explore the oasis at your leisure and mingle with locals. We also suggest visiting the Dar Charait Museum, an ethnographic museum depicting scenes of traditional Tunisian life. Dinner and accommodation are in a boutique hotel.

Day 5: Douz Sahara Experience

After breakfast, we will hop on our overland 4X4 vehicles and head towards Douz Oasis, crossing the mountains and surrounding oases. Enjoy these picturesque landscapes you may recognize as the setting for scenes from 'The English Patient.' Visit the Saharan oasis of Tamerza, along with Mides and Chebika. You'll also see set remnants left over from the filming of Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace, etc.

We will proceed to Douz (approximately 2.5 hours), traveling across Chott El Jerid, the largest salt lake in the Sahara Desert. Arrive in Douz and meet your camel drivers. Get a brief lesson in desert etiquette, then begin your trek into the Sahara (approximately 3 hours). While the journey to the camp is on foot, the camels will carry your luggage and assist anyone tired. Arrive at the center just before sunset. Enjoy dinner and overnight under the starry African skies.

Day 6: Return to Douz Oasis

Do not miss a dawn walk over the dunes to witness the dramatic Sahara sunrise. Enjoy the natural setting, then return to Camp for a sumptuous breakfast gazing at the voluptuous Sahara dunes. Later, we will prepare for our walking trek back to Tozeur. Assisted by Berber Guides and a camel Caravan transporting our luggage and food, we will trek back to Douz (approximately 3 hours). You can ride a camel or walk the six miles of our Saharan trail to the oasis of Douz. We will reach Douz in the afternoon for a comfortable night at our boutique hotel.

Day 7: Hiking to Matmata

Wake up relatively early for breakfast, then hit the road overland to Matmata. We will make a few stops for natural sight photo opportunities and cultural landmarks like an old Olive oil mill. We will reach Matmata, known for its troglodyte dwellings. Our afternoon will be devoted to exploring the cave neighborhoods and hiking through the rocky landscapes of Matmata. Your accommodation tonight is in a traditional cave dwelling.

Day 8: Travel to El Jem and Mahdia

Enough of the Sahara desert; let’s head to the Mediterranean shore to freshen up a little. We will travel to Mahdia, stopping en route at the spectacular Roman amphitheater of El Jem. This third-century structure resembles Rome’s Colosseum and impressively rises above the surrounding city. Arrive in the afternoon at the seaside Mahdia, a relaxed port town. Perhaps head out to the 16th-century Ottoman fort or the waterfront cemetery. Have your camera charged and ready for action. Dinner and accommodation at your hotel.

Day 9: Guided tour of Mahdia

After breakfast, you will meet your local guide, who will take you on a walking tour of historic Mahdia whitewashed local medina, then head out to explore the artisan village of Moknine. Visit the folk museum to see some of the fine ceramics and jewelry produced here. Decide as a group whether to stay for lunch before continuing to Monastir. In Monastir, explore the seafront ribat (fortress), which was originally a defensive fort built to withstand Christian invasions and an important center of Islamic learning. Climb 90 steep steps to the sanctuary watchtower for panoramic city views. Return to Mahdia in the afternoon and enjoy free time. Maybe treat yourself to some good old-fashioned Mediterranean fun and relax on the beach. Farewell dinner will be at your hotel.

Day 10: Mahdia - Tunis Airport

Check out in the morning and drive overland to Tunis Airport for those who have flights leaving today. We hope you had a great time exploring Tunisia on this overland expedition. Come back and see us again on another Tunisia overland tour in the future.

What is included:

  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Transportation in 4X4 vehicles
  • Breakfast, and dinner daily
  • Services of local guides
  • Sahara Camping night
  • Fees to Monuments and Museums

Hotels Used:

DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Sat 4 May 2024 Tue 14 May 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 11 May 2024 Tue 21 May 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 18 May 2024 Tue 28 May 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 25 May 2024 Tue 4 Jun 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 1 Jun 2024 Tue 11 Jun 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 8 Jun 2024 Tue 18 Jun 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 15 Jun 2024 Tue 25 Jun 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 22 Jun 2024 Tue 2 Jul 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 29 Jun 2024 Tue 9 Jul 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 6 Jul 2024 Tue 16 Jul 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 13 Jul 2024 Tue 23 Jul 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 20 Jul 2024 Tue 30 Jul 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 27 Jul 2024 Tue 6 Aug 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 3 Aug 2024 Tue 13 Aug 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 10 Aug 2024 Tue 20 Aug 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 17 Aug 2024 Tue 27 Aug 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 24 Aug 2024 Tue 3 Sep 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 31 Aug 2024 Tue 10 Sep 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 7 Sep 2024 Tue 17 Sep 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 14 Sep 2024 Tue 24 Sep 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 21 Sep 2024 Tue 1 Oct 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 28 Sep 2024 Tue 8 Oct 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 5 Oct 2024 Tue 15 Oct 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 12 Oct 2024 Tue 22 Oct 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 19 Oct 2024 Tue 29 Oct 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 26 Oct 2024 Tue 5 Nov 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 2 Nov 2024 Tue 12 Nov 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 9 Nov 2024 Tue 19 Nov 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 16 Nov 2024 Tue 26 Nov 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 23 Nov 2024 Tue 3 Dec 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 30 Nov 2024 Tue 10 Dec 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 7 Dec 2024 Tue 17 Dec 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 14 Dec 2024 Tue 24 Dec 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 21 Dec 2024 Tue 31 Dec 2024 Available $2485 RESERVATION
Sat 28 Dec 2024 Tue 7 Jan 2025 Available $2485 RESERVATION

Cost per person: $2465 USD

Single supplement: $385 USD

MAKING AN INQUIRY

Most tours are customized for private travel according to your preferences and dates. Click below to tell us what you're looking for:

Customized Tours