Tunisia Overland Adventure Tour

Tunisia Trip

The history of Tunisia reveals this rich past where different successive Mediterranean cultures had a strong presence. After the Carthaginian Republic, The Roman Empire came, they have left a lasting effect on the land with various monuments and cities such as the El Jem Amphitheater and the archaeological site of the ancient city of Carthage, which is classified as a world heritage site. El Jem is just one of seven world heritage sites found in Tunisia. Enjoy exploring all aspects of Tunisia historic cities, Mediterranean resorts and overland Sahara desert experience on this grand tour.


Customize This Trip For Me

Most tours are customized for private travel.

Trekking Tunisia overland with a small group is to explore the best Mediterranean lush vistas that would connect you to the aridness of a vast Sahara desert. Tunisia south and north are like two different countries contrasting both in climate and landscapes. The south seems to embody an era of the biblical aura seemingly an ancient Mesopotamia of adobe and roof gardens. Exploring the vast Sahara expansion seems surreal, with its oases plateaus bordered by mirages and golden sand dune. With all our 2021 Tunisia small group tours you will explore the best of the Souss region of the Sahara desert, but hiking with this expedition along these lacing valleys and oases, you will discover sandcastle-like kasbahs and romantic oases, where tall date palms groves hedged by silver-green reeds. Sand dunes in the far horizon are constantly reshaped by gentle winds, sheltered by azure-blue African skies shape the backdrop of these lush vistas. Heaven on earth, this is for any active and nature lover traveler who loves walking, hiking, and trekking challenging expeditions with guaranteed departures and small group tours to Tunisia.

Our Tours to Tunisia hiking through these breath-taking landscapes that have attracted artists, poets, photographers, and filmmakers. Our Tunisia active tours are enthralling and amazing. You will be able to capture the majesty and unsurpassed beauty of Tunisia's natural and manmade landscapes with your naked eye and through the lens of your camera. This expedition is beyond National Geographic reach, It is literally heaven on earth, which has a depth that can only be truly embraced and appreciated by the naked eye.

We have designed this adventure tour and expedition especially for the outback lovers of nature and authenticity. It is an overland trek in the southern part of Tunisia. this overland expedition is offered for all kinds of travelers, from luxury to budget to backpackers. If you can take a walk in the park then you can do this overland expedition. This Tunisia adventure tour starts in Tunis and ends in it as well as covering ceremonial treks and footpaths. We depart from Tunis the green visiting major historic cities to Souss desert exploring cultural encounters in most remote oases daily life. An active tour to Tunisia, unlike the others.

Shoppers will love the Berber souks (daily markets) as all you see from produce to utensils, to crafts are locally produced. This Tunisia overland tour will continue on its way crossing some of the breathtaking oases and kasbahs (adobe castles) riding 4x4 Land Rovers through the great south of Tunisia where scenery changes in every horizon, you will reach in this expedition suddenly the vastness of the Sahara desert. No word can describe this ethereal God made an ocean of emptiness yet it is indeed so fulfilling. Welcome to the ocean of dunes and the land of the camel. Enjoy this trekking expedition in enticing Tunisia. Join our active tours to Tunisia best deals up to your budget for all our small group tours 2021 and 2022.

DAY TO DAY ITINERARY

Day 1: Arrival at Tunis Airport

Welcome to our overland expedition to Tunisia. Upon your arrival at Tunis Airport, you will meet our representative who will greet you and transfer you to your hotel in Tunis colonial town. Your historic walking tour of the city is scheduled for tomorrow. The remainder of today is at leisure to relax and acclimate. Dinner and accommodation will be at your hotel.

Day 2: Tunis Historic Tour

After breakfast, you will meet your local guide who will take on a historic tour of Tunis and about. Start your guided tour by visiting the seaside town of Sidi Bou Said, A Mediterranean blue town where the white walls and blue shutters of the seaside village make for incredible photo opportunities. Continue to the ninth-century World Heritage-listed Carthage to see monuments like the vast Antonine baths, the Roman amphitheater, and the Punic ports. We will break for lunch at Sidi Bou Said. The visit the Famous National Bardo Museum, second only to the Egyptian museum of Cairo in terms of the breadth and depth of its collections. Later on, we will walk to Tunis Medina, one of the interesting North Africa old cities. Discover the twisting alleyways with your local guide and Tunis medieval monuments and landmarks exploring shops overflowing with goods and visiting the Grand Souq des Chechias, where Tunisia’s iconic blood-red hats are made. In the evening return to your hotel for dinner and accommodation.

Day 3: Travel to Kairouan

After breakfast, we will travel overland to Kairouan visiting Testour. Dougga and Le Kef. Make tracks for Dougga, one of the best-preserved Roman cities in Africa. Stop en route in Testour, where the Moorish architecture tells the story of the Muslim and Jewish refugees who arrived in the 16th–17th centuries expelled from Spain. Explore Dougga with your tour leader. Once the capital of both the Phoenician and Roman states, Dougga boasts many imposing monuments, including a second-century AD theatre, the Capitoline Temple, and the 2200-year-old Nubian Temple of Ateban. Enjoy your overland trekking day exploring the best of historic sights in Tunisia. Continue your trek heading to Kairouan, where you will spend the night. Dinner and accommodation will be at your hotel.

Day 4: Overland trip to Tozeur

Today, your overland expedition will progress southwards to the Oasis of Tozeur. You will explore the oasis town of Tozeur, which is lined by extensive palm groves and was historically an important trade center of trans-Saharan Caravans. Check out the Eden Palm, a museum set in a beautiful building which tracks the history of dates and the uses for the palm tree. Later stroll through the 14th-century medina and admire the striking adobe architecture and restored sundried natural brickwork. The rest of the day is free for you to explore the oasis at your leisure and mingle with locals. We suggest also a visit to the Dar Charait Museum, an ethnographic museum depicting scenes of traditional Tunisian life. Dinner and accommodation are in a boutique hotel.

Day 5: Douz Sahara Experience

After breakfast, we will hop on our overland 4X4 vehicles and head towards Douz Oasis crossing the mountains and surrounding oases. Enjoy these picturesque landscapes you may recognize as the setting for scenes from 'The English Patient'. Visit the Saharan oasis of Tamerza, along with Mides and Chebika. You’ll also see set remnants left over from the filming of Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace, etc.

We will proceed to Douz (approximately 2.5 hours), traveling across Chott El Jerid, the largest salt lake in the Sahara Desert. Arrive in Douz and meet your camel drivers. Get a brief lesson in desert etiquette then begin your trek into the Sahara (approximately 3 hours). While the journey to the camp is on foot, the camels will carry your luggage and assist anyone who is tired. Arrive at the camp just before sunset. Enjoy dinner and overnight under the starry African skies.

Day 6: Return to Douz Oasis

Do not miss a dawn walk over the dunes to witness the dramatic Sahara sunrise. Enjoy the natural setting then return to Camp for a sumptuous breakfast gazing at the voluptuous Sahara dunes. Later on, we will get ready for our walking trek back to Tozeur. Assisted by Berber Guides and a camel Caravan transporting our luggage and food we will trek back to Douz (approximately 3 hours). You can ride a camel or simply just walk the six miles of our Saharan trail to the oasis of Douz. We will reach Douz in the afternoon for a comfortable night at our boutique hotel.

Day 7: Hiking to Matmata

Wake up relatively early for a breakfast then hit the road overland to Matmata. We will make few stops for some natural sight photo opportunity and cultural landmarks like an old Olive oil mill, etc. We will reach Matmata known for its troglodyte's dwellings. Our afternoon will be devoted to exploring the cave neighborhoods hiking throughout the rocky landscapes of Matmata. Your accommodation tonight is in a traditional cave dwelling.

Day 8: Travel to El Jem and Mahdia

Enough of the Sahara desert, let’s head to the Mediterranean shore to freshen up a little. We will travel to Mahdia, stopping en route at the spectacular Roman amphitheater of El Jem. This third-century structure resembles Rome’s Colosseum and rises above the surrounding city in impressive fashion. Arrive in seaside Mahdia, a relaxed port town, in the afternoon. Perhaps head out to the 16th-century Ottoman fort or the waterfront cemetery. Have your camera charged and ready for action. Dinner and accommodation at your hotel.

Day 9: Guided tour of Mahdia

Afterbreakfast, you will meet your local guide who will take on a walking tour of historic Mahdia whitewashed local medina, then head out to explore the artisan village of Moknine. Visit the folk museum to see some of the fine ceramics and jewelry produced here. Decide as a group whether to stay for lunch before continuing to Monastir. In Monastir explore the seafront ribat (fortress), which was originally a defensive fort built to withstand Christian invasions, as well as an important center of Islamic learning. Climb 90 steep steps to the sanctuary watchtower for panoramic views of the city. Return to Mahdia in the afternoon and enjoy free time. Maybe treat yourself to some good old-fashioned Mediterranean fun and relax on the beach. Farewell dinner will be at your hotel.

Day 10: Mahdia - Tunis Airport

Check out in the morning and drive overland to Tunis Airport for those who have flights leaving today. We hope you had a great time exploring Tunisia on this overland expedition. Come back and see us again on another Tunisia overland tour in the future.

What is included:

  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Transportation in 4X4 vehicles
  • Breakfast, and dinner daily
  • Services of local guides
  • Sahara Camping night
  • Fees to Monuments and Museums

Hotels Used:

DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Tue 20 Oct 2020 Fri 30 Oct 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 27 Oct 2020 Fri 6 Nov 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 3 Nov 2020 Fri 13 Nov 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 10 Nov 2020 Fri 20 Nov 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 17 Nov 2020 Fri 27 Nov 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 24 Nov 2020 Fri 4 Dec 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 1 Dec 2020 Fri 11 Dec 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 8 Dec 2020 Fri 18 Dec 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 15 Dec 2020 Fri 25 Dec 2020 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 22 Dec 2020 Fri 1 Jan 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 29 Dec 2020 Fri 8 Jan 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 5 Jan 2021 Fri 15 Jan 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 12 Jan 2021 Fri 22 Jan 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 19 Jan 2021 Fri 29 Jan 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 26 Jan 2021 Fri 5 Feb 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 2 Feb 2021 Fri 12 Feb 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 9 Feb 2021 Fri 19 Feb 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 16 Feb 2021 Fri 26 Feb 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 23 Feb 2021 Fri 5 Mar 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 2 Mar 2021 Fri 12 Mar 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 9 Mar 2021 Fri 19 Mar 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 16 Mar 2021 Fri 26 Mar 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 23 Mar 2021 Fri 2 Apr 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 30 Mar 2021 Fri 9 Apr 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 6 Apr 2021 Fri 16 Apr 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 13 Apr 2021 Fri 23 Apr 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 20 Apr 2021 Fri 30 Apr 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 27 Apr 2021 Fri 7 May 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 4 May 2021 Fri 14 May 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 11 May 2021 Fri 21 May 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 18 May 2021 Fri 28 May 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 25 May 2021 Fri 4 Jun 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 1 Jun 2021 Fri 11 Jun 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 8 Jun 2021 Fri 18 Jun 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 15 Jun 2021 Fri 25 Jun 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 22 Jun 2021 Fri 2 Jul 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 29 Jun 2021 Fri 9 Jul 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 6 Jul 2021 Fri 16 Jul 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 13 Jul 2021 Fri 23 Jul 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 20 Jul 2021 Fri 30 Jul 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 27 Jul 2021 Fri 6 Aug 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 3 Aug 2021 Fri 13 Aug 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 10 Aug 2021 Fri 20 Aug 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 17 Aug 2021 Fri 27 Aug 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 24 Aug 2021 Fri 3 Sep 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 31 Aug 2021 Fri 10 Sep 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 7 Sep 2021 Fri 17 Sep 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 14 Sep 2021 Fri 24 Sep 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 21 Sep 2021 Fri 1 Oct 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 28 Sep 2021 Fri 8 Oct 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 5 Oct 2021 Fri 15 Oct 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 12 Oct 2021 Fri 22 Oct 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 19 Oct 2021 Fri 29 Oct 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 26 Oct 2021 Fri 5 Nov 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 2 Nov 2021 Fri 12 Nov 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 9 Nov 2021 Fri 19 Nov 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 16 Nov 2021 Fri 26 Nov 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 23 Nov 2021 Fri 3 Dec 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 30 Nov 2021 Fri 10 Dec 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 7 Dec 2021 Fri 17 Dec 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 14 Dec 2021 Fri 24 Dec 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 21 Dec 2021 Fri 31 Dec 2021 Available $1685 INQUIRY
Tue 28 Dec 2021 Fri 7 Jan 2022 Available $1685 INQUIRY

Cost per person: $2465 USD

MAKING AN INQUIRY

Most tours are customized for private travel according to your preferences and dates. Click below to tell us what you're looking for:

Customize This Trip For Me